





Congress of the United States

House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

March 31, 2023

The Honorable Kay Granger Chairwoman House Committee on Appropriations U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Rosa L. DeLauro Ranking Member House Committee on Appropriations U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairwoman Granger and Ranking Member DeLauro:

I am requesting \$8,500,000 in funding for the UT-Dallas Next-Gen Battery Manufacturing Incubator project in fiscal year 2024. The entity to receive funding for this project is The University of Texas at Dallas located at 800 W. Campbell Road, Richardson, TX 75080.

The funding would be used for creating a Next-Gen Battery Manufacturing Incubator. Specifically, the funds will be entirely used for purchase and installation of battery synthesis and characterization equipment, as well as setting up a dry room with humidity control to be able to accommodate up to 12 technical staff working concurrently. The funds will be used for the installation of the manufacturing incubator space and will not be used for any operational support.

The project is an appropriate use of taxpayer funds because to meet the U.S. battery manufacturing goal, the U.S. federal government, through the Inflation Reduction Act, requires the U.S. domestic sourcing and production of batteries while the U.S. production capacity is expected to grow 20 times larger from 2021 to 2030. The expected expansion of the battery manufacturing workforce will be critical limiting factor to meet the expected 20-fold increase of U.S. battery manufacturing capacity, and the proposed Incubator can facilitate the North Texas and neighboring states battery workforce training as well as support next-gen battery startups.

The project has a federal nexus because the funding provided is for purposes authorized by 42 U.S.C. 5305(a)(2).

I certify that I have no financial interest in this project, and neither does anyone in my immediate family.

Sincerely,

Colin Allred

Member of Congress